Rudraksha, also rudraksh, Sanskrit: rudrākṣa (“Rudra’s eyes”), is a seed is traditionally used for prayer beads in Hinduism and Buddhism. The seed is produced by several species of large evergreen broad-leaved tree in the genus Elaeocarpus, with Elaeocarpus ganitrus being the principal species used in the making of organic jewellery or mala.

Usually the beads of Rudraksha are strung together as a mālā. Traditionally, it is believed that the number of beads is 108 plus one. The extra bead is the bindu. There must always be a bindu to the mala, otherwise the energy becomes cyclical and people who are sensitive may become dizzy.

For someone who is constantly on the move and who eats and sleeps in various places, rudraksha is a very good support because it creates a cocoon of your own energy. You might have noticed that when you go to a new place, sometimes you can fall asleep easily, whereas in certain other places you cannot fall asleep even if you are physically tired. This is because, if the situation around you is not conducive to your kind of energy, it will not let you settle down. For sadhus and sanyasis, places and situations could trouble them because they were constantly moving. One of the rules for them was never to put their head down in the same place twice. Today, once again, people have started eating and sleeping in different places because of their business or profession, so a rudraksha can be helpful.


Rudraksha: works as A shield against negative energies.

It is also a kind of shield against negative energies. It is possible for some people to use negative energies to cause harm to someone else. This is a whole science by itself. OneVeda, the Atharvana Veda, is all about how to use energies to your advantage and to someone else’s detriment. If somebody who has mastery over this wants to use it, so many things – extreme suffering and even death can be caused.

A rudraksha is a kind of shield against this. You may think nobody will do negative things to you, but it is not necessary that it should be targeted at you. Let us say somebody did it to the person sitting next you, but he is not receptive to it. Now you may get it because you are sitting next to him. It is just like when two people are shooting at each other on the street, they do not intend to shoot you, but you may get shot. Similarly these things also can happen. It is not intended for you, but it can happen if you are in the wrong place at the wrong moment. There need not be a huge fear about such things, but a mala is a kind of protection from that.

Mukhi Definition

As per details found in the Purana there are fourteen kinds of Rudraksha, which are called Mukhi or faceted Rudraksha. Mukhi or faces of Rudraksha are deep lines found on the surface of the Rudraksha from bottom to the top hole. The number of these lines decides about the type or Mukhi Rudraksha.

Naturally grown grooves, starting from the natural vertically or horizontally stalk point* reaching the opposite point, are termed MUKHI/Face. Any kind of artificial modification by any means to complete the natural incompletely grown MUKHI/face precludes the seed being known as a natural MUKH/Face.

Most rudraksha have a small opening* at the stalk point resulting from the extraction and cleaning process; which is further expanded by drilling to use the rudraksha for its benefits. (*this opening might be limited to the surface only or it might be present like a drill-hole).

Spiritual use

Rosary made out of Rudraksha Beads in the auspicious numbers like (108+1, 54+1, 27+1) is called Rudraksha Mala. The +1 bead is called as Sumeru(it is not crossed while chanting) which is considered as boundary for returning in reverse direction for further counting. Mala is used for wearing as well as for purpose of Japa (Chanting Mantra for Spiritual attainments).

Rudraksha beads are the material from which malas are made. The term is used both for the berries themselves and as a term for the type of mala made from them. In this sense, a rudraksha is a rosary, used for repetitive prayer (japa), a common aid to worship inHinduism and Buddhism. Rudrakshas also used for the treatment of various diseases in traditional Indian medicine

 What is the meaning of the word Rudraksha

The word rudraksha is derived from two words – rudra (रुद्र) and aksha (अक्ष).

  1. Aksha means eye. Rudra and aksha means the one who is capable of looking at and doing everything (for example, the third eye). Aksha also means axis. Since the eye can rotate on one axis, it too is known as aksha.
  2. Rudra means the one who weeps. A (अ) means to receive and ksha (क्ष) means to give. Hence, aksha (अक्ष) denotes the ability to receive or give. Rudraksha is the one that has the ability to wipe our tears and provide happiness.


Glory of Rudraksh –  रुद्राक्ष की महिमा


१. एक मुखी –  यह लक्ष्मी प्रदान करने वाला व कष्ट दूर करने वाला होता है । शिव स्वरूप होता है ।


२. दो मुखी –  कामनापूर्ति ,व भय से मुक्त करता है ,डरावने स्वप्न को मिटने वाला होता है । सिव पार्वती स्वरूप है ।


३. तीन मुखी –  विद्द्यादाता , ज्वरनासक , अग्नि का स्वरूप है ।


४. चार मुखी –  यह धर्म कर्म को देने वाला है, वंस वृद्धि के लिए धारण करना चाहिये ।  यह ब्रम्हा का स्वरूप है।


५. पंच मुखी –  यह मुक्तिदाता और पापोँ को मिटने वाला है । यह शिव स्वरूप है ।


६. छःमुखी –  विजय दाता,निरोगता प्राप्त होता है । यह कार्तिकेय का स्वरूप है ।


७. सात मुखी –  ऐस्वर्य दाता ,अन्नत स्वरुप है ।


८. आठ मुखी –  यश कीर्ति दायक ,दीर्घायु ,प्रदान करता है । गणेश स्वरुप है ।


९. नौमुखी –  मानसिक शांति देने वाला है । स्त्रियों के अति उत्तम है,। यह भैरव स्वरूप है ।


१०. दशमुखी –  ग्रहो को शांत करनेवाला,राजनीती में बढ़ाने वाला,सर्पदोष को मिटनेवाला है । यह विष्णुस्वरूप है।


११. एकादश मुखी –  प्रतिष्ठा देने वाला ,हर कामनाओं की पूर्ति करने वाला है । यह रूद्र स्वरूप होता है ।


१२. बारह मुखी –  मान ,सम्मान ,की प्राप्ति करनेवाला ,नेत्र रोग को मिटाने वाला है । यह सूर्य का स्वरूप है ।


१३. तेरह मुखी –  यह साशन दिलाने वाला होता है । मंगल दायक है। यह इन्द्र स्वरूप है ।


१४.  चौदह मुखी – यह समस्त सुख देने वाला ,ज्ञान दाता ,विवेकवान बनाता है। यह शिव स्वरूप है ।